HomePolicyHow We Are Regulated

How We Are Regulated


Credit unions, building societies and mutual banks are Authorised Deposit-taking Institutions (ADIs) and are subject to the strongest regulatory framework in the financial sector.

ADIs are subject to close supervision by the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) under the Banking Act 1959. All ADIs – banks, building societies and credit unions are subject to the same, strict, legally-enforceable prudential standards on capital, liquidity, risk management and governance.

Deposits of up to $250,000 with credit unions, building societies and mutual banks were covered on a permanent basis by the Government guarantee from 1 February 2012.

In addition to their licence to carry out banking business, all credit unions, building societies and mutual banks hold an Australian Financial Services Licence (AFSL) and are regulated by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) under the Corporations Act 2001. AFSL holders are subject to a range of licensing, conduct and disclosure obligations.

Credit unions, mutual banks and building societies are also subject to regulatory obligations under a range of laws, including:

  • consumer credit law;
  • the Privacy Act 1988;
  • the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Act 2006;
  • payments system regulation;
  • the Electronic Funds Transfer Code of Conduct; and
  • the Customer Owned Banking Code of Practice.

Media Release Alerts

For notification of the latest Releases and Submissions sent straight to your inbox - enter your email address here:


Policy Contacts

Luke Lawler
Director - Policy
Ph: 02 8035 8448
Mob: 0418 213 025
Email Lukecontact-arrow