HomeView 2013 Media ReleasesAwards winners deliver customer owned excellence

The Customer Owned Banking Association today congratulated award winning credit unions, building societies and mutual banks from the AFR Smart Investor Blue Ribbon awards.

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank was awarded Mutual Bank of the Year, CUA took out Credit Union of the year for the second year in a row and Newcastle Permanent won the Building Society of the year prize for the third year running.

Newcastle Permanent also won the Home Lender of the Year, Fixed Rate Home Loan, Personal Loan – Secured and Overall Savings Account categories.

"These awards are terrific recognition for our sector," COBA CEO Louise Petschler said.

"You can see from recent independent consumer satisfaction figures and prestigious awards like these that customer owned banking is delivering Australians outstanding service and products.

"The Blue Ribbon awards represent timely achievement and acknowledgement for the customer owned approach to banking."

Other winners recognised by AFR Smart Investor included:

  • Low Rate Card - Community First Credit Union
  • Personal Loan - Unsecured Quay Credit Union
  • Cash Management Account - Big Sky Building Society
  • Balance Transfer Card - Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

To find a customer owned banking organisation near you, visit coba3.nexusone.com.au

For more information please contact:

Daniel McDougall, Senior Adviser Media
02 8035 8444 or 0407 637 541, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Downlod PDF version here171.2 KB


Media Contacts

Sally Mackenzie
Director - Strategy & Stakeholders
P: +61 2 8035 8450
M: +61 412 721 663
Email Sallycontact-arrow

COBA Alerts

To receive notifications about our latest Media Releases, Submissions and other news sent straight to your inbox, subscribe to COBA Alerts.